SplashScreen location

Hi,

I don’t know where to put android splash screens. In the docs they always talk about www/res/screens but I don’t have that.

And I don’t know if I have to write something into config.xml to show the splash screens on android. And which config.xml because I have 2.

For iOS splash screen is working like a charm but I can’t get it to work for android

Yeah, splash screens can be a pain, especially for android.

What you want to do is create a 9-patch png and follow the steps on the plugin repo page.

http://plugins.cordova.io/#/package/org.apache.cordova.splashscreen

I’m pretty new to Cordova/Ionic, but this post helped me a lot:
http://devgirl.org/2013/11/12/three-hooks-your-cordovaphonegap-project-needs/

It seems the CLI version of Cordova doesn’t copy icons and splash over to the right directories (despite what the docs say). The second script on that site does just that. This works well for me since I don’t want my platform directory in Git. I created a config folder with the icons and splash screens (which is included in my version control), and this hook will copy them over to the appropriate platform directories for me.

I’m also using the Install Plugins hook so that anytime I create a new platform the plugins that I need for that project are automatically added.

Hope it helps!

Thank you for your help but I don’t get it.

This hook think seams pretty complicated for me and I don’t understand why something fundamental as a splash screen doesn’t work perfectly in cordova!?

In the hook example they describe a path that i can’t find
Where is that config/android/res/drawable/icon.png

Further whats the matter with this android folder? there is a android folder in the app folder and there is platforms/android

There are similar files in it but why do I need that? it makes stuff so complicated for beginners.