Should I learn AngularJs before diving into Ionic?

I know Html, Css and also Javascript (although I am not an expert in it), so should I learn AngularJs before starting development using Ionic?

2 Likes

absolutly :thumbsup:

1 Like

In my opinion no.
I started off learning about AngularJS as I learned to use ionic.
Ionic is a great platform built on AngularJS to just get on with things, but as always you bump into some details where ionic hasn`t got a ready-to-go package to use. At that moment you will quickly start learnng angularJS to solve your issues. Ionic has a great set of functions but cannot be all-things-to-all-people.

There are a few basic concepts in AngularJS that you will need to know, but Ionic has great instructions and an even greater community to get you going on this.
To me, the Ionic community introduced me to AngularJS rather than the opposite.

As always, you learn most by just ‘living it’.

Good luck!!

1 Like

i disagree, most people use a framework instead of understand it…
You can see it in the most basic question here in the forum.

I started directly with ionic… and understand important things too late. :smile:

It is a different thing, if you play around for your own purpose… but using it in a professional environment like a company… you should definitively start learning the basics and understand the important topics like Data-Binding, Scope-Lifecycle, how to structure the code (here you should read john papas guide)… and so on before you use another abstraction or extention framework.

greetz ^^.

2 Likes

I do agree on that @bengtler

One always needs to understand the underlaying sructure before one can really get things going without wondering about very basic things.