Ionic4/Stencil - chat group?

Greetings!

Is there an official chat group (gitter, slack, something) for Ionic-4 and/or Stencil?

I’m new to Ionic and will only use it in the new world of “no framework” or “some framework that’s not angular” mode.

So, I’m looking for a forum that discusses this new direction, preview releases, and so forth as I embark on my ionic@4 preview adventure?

1 Like

About StencilJS:

• On this forum I think there is now a category “Stencil” to tag your questions and answers with

• About Slack, twitter etc. see the website of StencilJS under “Community” for the links

https://stenciljs.com/docs/intro

1 Like

Thanks, I found the slack for Stencil but unfortunately it requires an admin to invite/approve me. Not sure how to go about that.

How about Ionic4 itself? Stencil is just a ‘behind the scenes’ tool in so far as Ionic4 is concerned, is it not?

I was able to join the ionic-worldwide slack but it didn’t seem to have much chatter about ionic4 specifically.

Any other ideas? I was hoping to find a vibrant community around ionic4 and it’s embrace of web components in 2018 :slight_smile:

By comparison, Polymer3 has a fairly active crowd over on Gitter. Hoping to find the same for Ionic4.

1 Like

Correct, behind the scene. You don’t or will not need to know Stencil to use Ionic4, up to you

About Ionic4 itself, alpha version isn’t even released yet. I guess it’s gonna be the community you are looking for as soon as something will be testable

For Ionic itself, I mostly use the Forum, but maybe someone else use other channels. For Stencil and Capacitor I use the slack channels and this forum too.

Just thinking now, for news about Ionic4 you could also follow the Ionic team on twitter, they are kind of active there too

1 Like

As far as I understand, we’re no longer required to use Angular 5 / Ionic 4 on Capacitor, correct?