For new Ionic developer, should I start with Ionic 1 or Ionic 2?

I am new to Ionic. but I have delivered two simple Angular 1 project (so I know a little bit of Angular 1), I have never done Angular 2 though.

Now I have a new project that must be done in Ionic (and must be delivered within 1 month). Should I start this project with Ionic 1 or Ionic 2? I have no idea how much (or lack of) plugin support Ionic 2 has… at the same time I do not want to develop on yesterday’s technology now that Ionic 2 is already in beta.

My main concern here plugin supports… I am worried plugin support for Ionic 2 is still at its infancy and it will take time for the plugins to mature for Ionic 2?

Sorry if I am repeating the same noob question all over again… but this question is almost 1 year old

I think you should go with Ionic 2 and Angular 2.

It really depends on the complexity of the project and the plugins that you need. I’ve successfully went live with an ionic2 website (note: not an app!) and it went smoothly, but it was literally 3 pages with one list in each :smiley:

hmm I dunno … He has one month to do the project … I personnally would not do ionic2 because of the time schedule.

Well, if the problem is plugin availability, ionic-native, the equivalent of ngcordova for Ionic 2, has taken off in the last month.

I’d suggest Ionic 2 :slight_smile:

I started an app some days ago, and though i went with ionic 2, i switched back to v1 because i had very little time like you, and with v1 I assured that i could have the app done in a few days. So, at the end, depends on your time and your ability of learning new things fast.

v1 if you have only 1 month, then in next projects if you have more time… v2, is growing very fast!

You will spend more time learning Ionic 1 than Ionic 2, I strongly recommend Ionic 2 :smiley: