Where to start

Hello guys.
I need to build a mobile app for my thesis and after some research concluded that Ionic is probably the best choice.
I’ve read around in the docs, followed some tutorials on some blogs on Ionic 2 but I decided it’s best to ask you here directly:

How should I go about to create an Ionic 2 app?
I have no significant prior experience with Ionic 1, Angular or much Javascript.

The app does not need to be overly complex. Mainly getting input, present info, send notifications and save to server.

Ionic 2 tutorials are a bit not too abundant since it’s so new… Also, I always end up reading more and more stuff (since I think it might come useful) and end up getting lost in the theory, while I believe it’d be more productive to start getting my hands dirty.

So I would really appreciate any help that gets me out of the deadlock.

Many, many thanks in advance!

Maybe try to find a “starter app” (template) that already contains a lot of code and gets you off the ground quickly and without having to wade through too much theory first.

I don’t know if there are any decent “starter apps” already for Ionic 2 (apart from the official Ionic starters which are rather simplistic), for Ionic 1 there are already a number of “starter apps”, see for instance:

http://market.ionic.io/starters

But I can’t find any Ionic 2 starters yet.

I also developed one, see https://github.com/leob/ionic-quickstarter, planning on porting it to Ionic 2 because I think there will be demand for that, didn’t do it yet however.

Maybe this could get you started?

http://coenraets.org/blog/2015/10/sample-application-with-ionic-2/

The post is a bit old however (using Ionic 2 alpha) so it may be outdated.

1 Like

If you ask me, i would wait to start with ionic 2. Since angular 2 has some quirks and lack of documentation (also if they announced the first rc), ionic 2 is not really stable and not that smooth to use (as programmer and enduser ^^).