What do you use as a backend?

Hi,

I am a web developer and now want to extend my skills to mobile apps.
I am in love with angular.js and so I also like the ionic framework.
…so: no more questions what to use in the frontend.

Cordova is my tool for getting it on the phone.

But: What to use on the server?

I would like to spend as little time on the server as necessary and for the beginning, there won’t be much to handle.

So, two questions:

1. What did you choose as a backend?
  2. Do you have a suggestions for me?

I want to have (list of nice buzzwords loading…): A REST API which will communicate via JSON (I don’t care about other options) - as this is the way Angular rocks.
I will need routing (…obvious), validation and I will need some kind of user management - maybe via OAuth/Facebook?!
At the start, I won’t need File Management, maybe later on.
I would like to use MongoDB as a database, but it’s more because I want to play with it - MySQL would do it to - no fancy stuff.

I have experiences with PHP and JS. I would be willing to learn Python or Go.

I want to have a self hosted version for the start.

At the moment on my list are:

At the moment it is more important to have a quick start and have a tool for some months than to have the perfect tool for a long time.

I use Django (python) with Tastypie (creates a RESTful api from your models).
It has great user management and includes an admin application straight out of the box.
The documentation is also first-class.

Check it out: https://www.djangoproject.com/

1 Like

I’ve got a lot of experience with Laravel. It’s very easy to setup and has routing components to quickly setup an API. Look into resourceful controllers. It also has an Eloquent ORM to interact with a variety of Databases.

But then again it does have a lot which you won’t be using, but I don’t see that as an issue as you’ll be learning a new framework in the process.

flask on google app engine