What are the differences between CouchDB, Firebase, Parse, and PouchDb

I am a front end developer. However, I would like to learn backend development. I have been searching databases knowledge and have no idea which one to go for. Could you elaborate whart are the differences between CouchDB, Firebase, Parse, and PouchDb?

Thanks.

I haven’t used CouchDB or PouchDB in a mobile app, but my understanding is PouchDB still uses CouchDB on the backend, but allows for offline saving, and then it updates CouchDB once it detects a connection.

I’m using Parse now and I’ve used Firebase before, though not the extent I’m using Parse.

Parse and Firebase are both Backend as a Service (BAAS), which is basically a service you can use for saving data, such as user profiles, images, sessions and device information.

Wiki: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_Backend_as_a_service

Since I’m using Parse extensively I will talk about that, but basically you can swap out Parse for Firebase with almost no issues.

In short, I’m really enjoying Parse. It made it incredibly fast to get started and give my app a backend and push notifications and I highly recommend it, but I’m planning on moving away from Parse as soon as I finish my app.

Heres how I’m using parse:

User signs up and I create a new user on parse.
User logs in and Parse creates a new session for that user.
User allows Push notifications and I register their device on Parse.
User sends Push notification, so using parse, I can send out their push notifications to other devices registered on Parse.

I also used Parse to save files, but since moved to AWS S3.

My experience with Parse has been great so far. It gives you incredibly easy user management, and handles authentication pretty well. I can basically flip a switch for when a user signs up and Parse will send an email for them to verify their email account. You can also do the same for password resets.