Java as backend? Need Explanation

Hi guys,
first of all: i am completey new to ionic!
I have experience in Java programing. And i have to program a application for my studies.
I’d like to do this in java. A hybrid webapplication using a database.

How do i connect ionic with java ?
Can i use ionic as a UI framwork for java ?

I found many examples and i specially likes the whole UI design and possibilities!
In all examples everybody used JavaScript. And i am a total noob to JavaScript so i wondered,
if you can write a whole application with javaScript.
I know that sounds like i am a total noob to all programming things but actually i’m studying
computer science and i really want to develop a good working and save application.
I hope that i found the right forum, and sorry if this topic is wrong here.

Thanks in advance
Alex :smile:

[also sorry for my bad english, i am not a native speaker … ]

First you can’t use Ionic as a UI framework for Java, it’s strictly a client-side framework.

You will need to have a separate client and server side code. Client side code needs to be written in JavaScript, technically in a combination of vanilla JavaScript and AngularJS.

Server side code, in your case, it will be Java.

You will need some Java framework. My advice you should use Play Framework or Jersey, find more about them plus some other frameworks here: http://www.gajotres.net/best-available-java-restful-micro-frameworks/

Here’s a tutorial series on Ionic: http://www.gajotres.net/ionic-framework-tutorial-1-installation/ . Rest of them can be found in Table of Content section.

P.S. Your English is more than adequate :smile: feel free to ask more questions any time you want

2 Likes

Thanks for your answer…
Just for my understanding :
it is normal to write the client code in javaScript :o ?
respectively do i really use single JavaScript for modern Apps using ionic ?

As i understand you, i can still use the sooooo nice UI of ionic ?