IONIC app with its own backend

Hi, I am planning to develop an app which will hold the backend and database in the phone (no external API or cloud allowed)

Is this possible with IONIC? I am new to IONIC and I can’t find examples of a similar scenario.

Thanks

Hi You can use Data Storage to store data in phone.

Thanks Alita, that seems to have support to save key/value pairs and even sqllite but where the backend can run? Is it possible to have a backend say nodejs or NET core running withing the app?

Can you explain why you would want to do this? At first glance, it would seem to be introducing lots of complexity and overhead on what is typically the most resource-starved aspect of an Ionic app ecosystem - the phone. I can’t think of an upside.

Hi rapropos,

The information that this app will gather from users is sensitive and don’t want to get trouble of data breaches handling this information in a server. Also it adds peace of mind to users knowing their I formatio wont leave the phone (unless they make a backup and store it somewhere else which any way will be user’s responsibility). Additionally the I formation gathered doesn’t need to be shared so for me it makes sense having everything within the app. I have used other apps with similar approach i.e. Home Budget.

I have been consireding other Frameworks like Flutter where this would be possible without any complexity. I am a full stack developer with some experience in Angular and React in frontend and NodeJS and NET core in backed so I am trying to find out if IONIC will support this use case, otherwise will need to learn dart and flutter.

Thanks.

In that case, I wouldn’t even have a “backend” in the traditional sense.

A well-structured (IMHO, at least) “backend”-having Angular application already has a bright line of demarcation between the presentation layer (pages and components) and the business object data layer (service providers that talk to the “backend” over a network).