Ionic App Fails to Run Only When Installing as Production Build

I have an app that runs fine on my Galaxy S6 when it is installed via “ionic cordova run android” but when I install it using ionic cordova run android --prod, it shows the splash screen, then switches to an all white screen and just hangs there. I launched the Android monitor to see if any of the logging might help but nothing jumps out at me as being a problem. I was using Crosswalk and then thought perhaps there was an issue with that so I removed Crosswalk and deployed it again but with the same result. I’m fairly new to Ionic as this is my first Ionic app.

Has anyone experienced an issue like this? Does anyone have any suggestions regarding how to troubleshoot this? Maybe logging that I might be unaware of, things to check, etc.? Right now I’m looking for a good starting point.

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Try connecting the mobile to the computer and using Google Chrome developer window to
find out what is happening to the App on the mobile device.

Thanks. The very interesting thing is that it appears to never launch the Webview because when I run it by installing from my machine, I get the option to inspect it. However, when I run from the installed version from the play store, it never gives me this option so it appears that it never launches the webview. At least that gets me closer to the actual problem even though I still have no idea what’s going on.

Release versions (built with --release) are not debuggable. That is why they don’t appear in the Chrome Inspect menu (which also makes it hard to debug these problems…)

Thanks. I was pretty sure that was the case. Do you know if it is possible to upload a debug version to the play store? I’m in the fortunate position of not yet having anyone other than beta users so I can play with this a little bit without impacting my user base.

I don’t think so.

Which command did you use to build your debug builds you tested?