Embed Ionic 2 App in Electron for Desktop Application

Hi,

I am completely new to Ionic 2, heard about it just a week ago. So I read around on Ionic and created a few sample apps also by following some online videos. It is indeed a great way to cut the efforts of developing multi-platform application(s) by at least half.

Then I heard about Electron and was able to embed some Angular 2 applications into Electron to get a Desktop version of those applications. Works great!

Next I wanted to try embedding an Ionic 2 app into Electron. I am sure I am not doing some setting somewhere right. I mean I get the main HTML I have for Ionic but it only shows the Title of the HTML in my Electron Desktop application window title bar. It doesn’t load the actual Ionic 2 app. The ionic app doesn’t really have much just a few different components are getting displayed. I also tried it with simple default Ionic 2 app that gets created with the command “ionic start myionic2app --v2”, this also did not work.

I would highly appreciate if somebody can please guide me in the right direction or give some pointers on how to do this.

Here is the project structure of my app:

Sorry it doesn’t let me upload the package.json file (or I don’t know how to do it perhaps) so uploading an image of its contents:

Thank you all in advance for this much needed help!

Looks like nobody has tried this…

I was able to use Ionic2 in Electron.

First I got the quick start so I could use the files in it.
git clone https://github.com/electron/electron-quick-start

Then I started a new Ionic2 app:
ionic start myapp sidemenu --v2

Then I edited the package.json to include:
“main”: “main.js”,
“scripts”: {
“clean”: “ionic-app-scripts clean”,
“build”: “ionic-app-scripts build”,
“ionic:build”: “ionic-app-scripts build”,
“ionic:serve”: “ionic-app-scripts serve”,
“start”: “electron .”
}

"devDependencies": {
"@ionic/app-scripts": "0.0.47",
"typescript": "2.0.9",
"electron": "^1.4.1"
  },