Using Ionic 2 App as Hybrid (Desktop & Mobile) App

Hi,

I have been trying to find out if Ionic (Ionic 2 specifically) can be used for developing an hybrid application that can be used and will give complete experience for each user on the respective platforms (like mobile (iOS, Android, Windows) and desktop (Windows, Mac)). I am completely new to Ionic world and from the looks of it I want to use it. But would like to know couple of things before I jump in.

Our main need is that we need to have a website developed as a product for the services we provide. And we have finalized on Angular 2, TypeScript with Bootstrap for desktop. Then came the need for having mobile version developed. I think Ionic 2 is the best choice to get it across all mobile platforms.

Now since we are not too much far into the development with Angular 2 and Bootstrap and more importantly to avoid maintaining two different codesbases for two different platforms (mobile and desktop), I was wondering if Ionic 2 can be used to create one web application that can be used/deployed/rendered on both the platforms. That is, desktop users will be able to have full website experience with elaborated functionalities and mobile users will get the usual mobile website/app experience.

I have looked for this information everywhere but havenā€™t been able to get a concrete answer or discussion that says that it is possible. The discussion I came across are from 2014/2015 which are kind of old if you take todayā€™s day and age in terms of technology. Therefore, before I reinvent the wheel I wanted to check with the experts here about the same.

I also read about Electron framework by Github which can help in building cross-platform web applications. Does anybody know if Electron will help me in achieving the above?

I will highly appreciate if somebody could please give me some valuable pointers on this.

Thanking you all in advance.

Best Regards,
Gauzy

Hi Gauzy,