Can I build GPS logging on map in Ionic?

I’m new to Ionic, to all development really. So I have a simple question I’d like to post before I go too deep: Can I use Ionic to build an app which logs gps on a map and shows this as a training session (Runkeeper style I guess)?

bump
Any info on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

Are you trying to make a path connecting preivous locations? For grabbing the location you should take a look at the location plugin for ngcordova. I’m using google maps to display just one point on a map but it works nice and I don’t see why you couldn’t put a path on it. I’m pretty sure they have line segment tools too. Also I’d suggest using just the regular google maps javascript api not the angular wrapper.

Yes I want to make a path on the map showing your movement since you started it. No idea how do to this.
Ok I’ll check out the plugin you mention, thanks!
Will I be able to get the total distance as well?
Why do you suggest the regular google maps js vs angular wrapper?

@epelc
Ok I’ve installed ngCordova and the $cordovaGeolocation plugin.
I’m getting the location correct, it seems.

But now how do I start saving these locations over time? A button should start this and end it.

Difficult to comment without understanding your exact requirement.

But you could have a start / end button, once the start button is pressed you have a timer which on each tick retrieves co-ordinates at a set interval (maybe every 10 seconds) and saving them into an array or object. Once the end button is pressed you obviously stop your timer.

Then you’d have an array of the co-ordinates over time and you can plot them accordingly, with array[0] being start, array[length-1] being end point and everything in between as way points I’d imagine?

As I said though, difficult to say without knowing your exact requirements.

Thanks @edwrede_ZA
That sounds pretty much exactly what I need to do, yes.