Using jquery in Ionic/Angular

I’m relatively new to both Ionic and Angular. I’m wondering if it’s okay or ‘best practice’ to use jquery along with the Ionic/Angular stack.

I realize that Angular takes care of most of the template/dom manipulations needed but I’m finding it difficult to do other types of manipulations… a good example is that I wanted to create an input mask on a text box… I wanted it to only accept numbers, and format currency… so the text box starts off at $0.00 and as you type in numbers the numbers would fill in appropriately… ex:

inputting 5-3-2-1-5-0 would give you

1. $0.05
  2. $0.53
  3. $5.32
  4. $53.21
  5. $532.15
  6. $5,321.50

respectively.

I decided to write a jquery event handler ( $(document).on(‘keydown’) ) to handle the input but as I did this Angular wouldn’t bind the ng-model variable I placed on the input tag to the function called on in the controller when submitting.

If anyone has any tips, suggestions, or best practices that would be great.

Thanks
-Dan

$(document).on('keydown', function(){
  //This is your event handler, wrap it in $apply
  $apply(function(){
     //Do all your logic here, apply will process it like normal data modification for angular
  });
});

Hope this helps :slight_smile: I’m not sure how you would do this with pure angular. Anyways, jquery is not seen as “best practice” to use with angular, since it is very often unnecessary. I haven’t seen anyone really objecting against it though.

You can use Angular’s native ng-keydown (https://docs.angularjs.org/api/ng/directive/ngKeydown)

You can also write a directive that will observe and fire on keydown.

And as @iwantwin said: using jQuery in an Angular app is not considered a “best practice”

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll take a look at ng-keydown. I’m also have another example I’m not sure how to proceed with Angular’s templating engine…