Super template with Visual Studio 2017

Hello,

I am having trouble getting the super template working in Visual Studio. After importing the project to VS and building, I constantly get error ‘DEP10402: Could not locate the start page. You may need to build your project.’

Any idea how I can resolve this? Starting an ionic project with one of the 3 templates (blank, side menu, tabs) in VS works fine, but I would really like to start with the super template.

Thanks!

@Mata8 For this i have no experience, but as you know Ionic is bundled with dozens of linux core libraries. That is generally not the field of Visual Studio. Maybe you can try Atom, with all plugins needed?

@FrancoisIonic Thanks for the reply! Do ionic developers generally use Atom? The ionic Getting Started page specifically suggests using Visual Studio for Windows developers.

@Mata8 That I don’t know, i work in general with Atom and I love it because in general i’m not doing much in front-end php (just touching what i dislike) (and by the way i’m quite good in Ionic now)… Still, my freelance hiree is in PhpStorm, and I use a lot of of cloud gui now (stuff simpliier than MRTG, etc).

Excuse me, but: What?

How does the built in support for these templates lool like in VS? Is there anything you have to install additionally? Seems like this is somehow configure inside there and doesn’t know about the ‘starter’ template.

Hi @Sujan12 ,

With VS, I had to install the ionic 2 templates from here: https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=VisualStudioPlatformTeam.Ionic2TemplatesforVisualStudio2017

As you can see, that does not include the super started template which I would like to use. So, I instead use the terminal to make a local copy of the super starter template, and then I import that project to VS. VS will make some modifications to make the project accessible in the IDE however, I am constantly presented with the error I mentioned in the original post.