Record audio, compress / convert and upload

Hi guys.

I hope the title is as simple as humanly possible.

I’m new to Ionic, starting playing around on Saturday and have been loving it so far. I’ve been able to get started and knock together a demo application and am making good progress.

However, I have an issue I was hoping someone could help with.

I want to record a short audio clip from the users mobile device, compress / convert it (as I see the Cordova library produces a wav file in iOS and a amr file in Android) to MP3 / M4A and then upload it.

The recording and upload parts I am fine with, but the bit in the middle is tricky. Uploading a wav file from a mobile device doesn’t make any sense, is there a way to create a MP3 / M4A file from the wav / amr file?

Thanks guys, I appreciate anyone taking the time to give me some guidance!
Ed

2 Likes

You should check our these cordova plugins.

http://plugins.cordova.io/#/package/org.apache.cordova.media
http://plugins.cordova.io/#/package/org.apache.cordova.media-capture

Hi mharington. Thanks for the response.

I’ve checked both of those plugins out. However there is nothing I can see that answers the question of converting a wav / amr file to a MP3 / M4A file.

Thanks again.
Ed

Not sure how well this works but it could help

@edwrede_ZA Did you end up finding a concrete solution? As part of an application I’m creating, I wish to do exactly the same thing as you (record + compress).

Any help would be appreciated!

Cheers,

Tom

Hi @szpytfire

I did come to a concrete solution, I’ll send you a PM and see if I can help :smile:
Ed

I’ve also been trying to solve this problem, any help would be amazing!

I’ve also been trying to solve this problem, any help would be amazing!

Anyone has achieved this goal?

Would you please share your audio encode solution with me too.
Thanks,
Steven Benjamin
steven@stevenbenjamin.com

Hi everyone.