Questions regarding the release of an Ionic app

Hi all,

For the past few weeks I’ve been working on a mobile application build on top of Ionic. I’m a front-end developer and I love the framework. It’s allowed me to quickly build a solid app using the techniques I already know from web development.

Now that my app is nearing completion I have a few questions regarding the packaging and release process. My apologies if these have been asked before. I did some searching, but couldn’t find any answers.

1. I created my app using one of the generators: ionic start myAppName sidemenu. This gave me a great start to work with. However, I notice that this pre-fills a lot of app-specific values in files like config.xml and AndroidManifest.xml (there are probably more.)
    Do I need to change these? Will they show up anywhere in the app stores or on the user’s device? Have I missed any? In which files do I change these (I seem to have multiple config.xml and AndroidManifest.xml files)
    Here are some of the properties I’m talking about, and their default values:
  • Package name: com.ionicframework.starter
  • Description: An Ionic Framework and Cordova project.
  • Author name: Ionic Framework Team
  • E-mail: hi@ionicframework
  • I’d like to update the version number before releasing. In which file(s) do I update this?
  • What does the ionic.project file do, and do I need it?
  • How do I generate a APK file to upload to Google Play? Running ionic build android only gives me myApp-unsigned APKs? I guess I’ll need cordova build --release android?
  • Some questions regarding compression/obfuscation:
  1. Is my app automatically compressed/obfuscated when it is packaged?
  • Does it make sense to minify js/html/css before packaging, for minimizing file size and making it harder to reverse-engineer?
  • Google recommends running ProGuard. Does Cordova run this automatically when signing or should I do this manually?