Looking for the best database for this simple Ionic 2 App

Hello everyone,

I know asking for which database is better for this or that is not what you prefer but here I am !
I am new to Ionic, Angular, Cordova, but having had courses at school on HTML, CSS, PHP (not so much), MySQL and some others I feel I could pick it up quickly. And I need to !

I’m doing an internship for one company who wants me to develop an app for its clients all by myself. No one knows tech at this company that’s why I ask for help here.

So, the app needs to provide a list of doctors depending on the insurance provider of the client, easily searchable, click to call and geolocation.

My question is, as I don’t (I think…) have to write data but only fetch data from the database, which solution would be the best option.
Should I build a MySQL db, a xyz db ? How to connect it then to my app ?
How to make it easily maintenable (as we have various insurance providers and they will send updated lists of doctors every few months) ?

Authentification is not required yet but if needed I will go with Firebase for its simplicity.

Cheers,
Pierre

If you don’t know much about how to build an API or Backend code, the database itself will not be your biggest challenge. So you should go something like Parse or Firebase to keep all the logic on the phone.

However, if you want more control over the backend, if you want to learn how it’s done or if you don’t want your business logic to be on your mobile device then you should build your API. If you want to learn about how to build an API, I like to build mine in ruby: example1 or example2 .

mysql can be your choice… just need to learn how to create Rest API to communicate your app to the DB and just use http request for that…

Thank you both for your replies and for the tuto and book links.