Local Notifications - Integral part of app

Hi guys, I am at my wits end. I am a experienced Angular developer but this was my first Ionic app. So simply put I want to activate a local notification at a certain time in the morning and then one in the afternoon again for a user to take his chronic medicine. Everything in the app works great but the notifications are killing me. So here is what seems to happen:

• If a phone reboots the notifications simply never appear again UNLESS the user opens the app at least once. I should have mentioned I am using Cordova local notification plugin but it seems as if no one can agree if it should still show notifications after reboot or not. Bottom line is if the fact is that it can’t then I am screwed.

• Second problem is that when I show a notification there is suppose to be a reminder 5 minutes later. How weird this even sounds sometimes it works perfectly other times the reminder is exactly the same time as the notification and the weirdest is that I have not even opened the app for two days.

• My last issue which I do believe I resolved is that if a user changes his notification time let’s say from 7 am to 8 am then he would still receive the 7 am one. This one sort of made sense to to me as I was thinking the phone probably does not know the old one is not valid anymore so what I do now is to use this.localNotifications.cancelAll(); to clear all reminders and then rebuild them again every time a time is changed. This seems to work fine so I am just stating this for completeness sake.

Are Local Notifications something that are stable in Ionic or am I beating a dead horse here.

Thank you

Hi
Not sure if this is purely an Ionic issue

More of options in cordova and/or capacitor

While I have no experience we either in notifications I do hear sometimes about background tasks running etc?