iOS, app stuck on splash screen with loading animation

I am launching my app on iOs simulator with:

$ionic emulate ios -lcs

but my app is stuck on the splash screen, with the loading animation in the middle.
There are no errors on the terminal.
I have Xcode 7.1. And the simulator seems to automatically launch iOS 9 (BTW I am wondering how to choose another version of iOS…).

Can you help me get one step further on the process of debugging my app for iOS ?

Thanks

Can someone help on this please ? (Sorry to up, it’s a bit urgent)

I’m still pretty new at Ionic but from my experience so far I would say there is an error in your code which is stopping it from proceeding past the splash screen.

First of all I’d test it in Safari using ionic serve to ensure there’s no errors there.

You can then use developer tools in Safari to debug the error within the Simulator. Sometimes this doesn’t work though if the error occurs before Safari detects the app in Simulator. If that’s the case the only way I’ve been able to fix it is strip back some of the code to iron our what code is causing the error.

Hi @bensinclair, thanks for answering.

Indeed, I developed the whole app using ionic serve on m linux machine, but now I am working on a mac to debug the app on iOS, and I didn’t even try it…

I just did now, and it opens chrome and there are no error, except some 404 for files, which are normal in my app.

I don’t really know how to use Safari to debug: I see, in the ‘Development’ menu of Safari, that there is a ‘simulator’ menu, but there’s no devices in it.

Do you think you can help me further ?

If you run app using xcode and your iphone is connected to your computer using a cable, then you can inspect it using safari Develop -> inspect -> iphone. But Generally you don’t need to do it, XCode would print any JS error in it’s window also

@bensinclair
I see my app in Safari’s Web Inspector, in menu “simulator”, but my app is grayed out, I can select it.

@yurinondual