Ionic-2 authentiaction with random string(as a token)

Hello…

I am new to Ionic2 and working on user authentication task. For this, i have to generate a random string and take that string as a token. Any one have an idea how to generate a random string with ionic2 and how to authenticate a user using that string as a token.

I have do like this:

login(): void{

this.nav.present(this.loading);
this.dataService.postData('bookappointment/login', this.loginForm.value).then((res) => {
  this.loading.dismiss(); 
  if(res.error){
    let alert = this.simpleAlert.createAlert('Oops!', 'Invalid Credentials!');
    this.nav.present(alert);
  }else{ 
    this.generateToken();
    this.nav.setRoot(IndexPage);
    console.log(this.loginForm.value);
  }

}, (err) => {
  this.loading.dismiss();
  let alert = this.simpleAlert.createAlert('Oops!', 'Something went wrong, please try again later.');
  this.nav.present(alert);
}); 

}

@hiren004 I suggests you some authentication library… that will be much more easier
Take a look on ng2-ui-auth There is also an ionic 2 example

Thanks for your reply…but i need to do authentication with generating a random string and take it as a token.:slight_smile:

Doesnt JWT token will do the work? https://jwt.io/

I am not trying with that right now. The code i have posted, is working fine with authentication of a user. I just need to generate a random string. Do you have any idea how to generate a random string this.?:slight_smile:

Maybe UUID? https://www.npmjs.com/package/angular2-uuid

Ok…you mean after installing it, then i can use math.random()??

Math.random() is a build in function… you can use it where you like… but this will give you a random number…
since you wanted a random string for me UUID seams like the best option…

Just install the package import it and then you will be able to use it like that:
import { UUID } from 'angular2-uuid';
let uuid = UUID.UUID();

uuid will look like: 547d8e40-354c-11e6-aa97-083e8ec535fb