Interface.d.ts error after upgrading to latest ionic v4 beta (12)

Hi,
I am working on a project that was created using Ionic v4.0.0-beta.3

I hit a bug that was fixed in beta.12, so I updated to beta.12 (the method I used was to do npm remove -g ionic, followed by npm install -g ionic)

Deleted node_modules folder and ran npm install to install all dependencies again.

Now when I do Ionic serve I get:
ERROR in node_modules/@ionic/core/dist/types/interface.d.ts(41,42): error TS1005: ‘;’ expected.

I googled around and saw that this is due to typescript being an old version, but my typescript version is 3.1.1

Any idea how to fix this?
(note: I’m new to Ionic and I’m not sure if the way I upgraded the Ionic version was the “proper” way of doing it… Is there any step-by-step guide on how all this updating should be done? e.g. how to update Node.js, npm, ionic cli, ionic framework, capacitor etc etc) I’ve searched quite a bit and everything I could find have missing pieces or don’t work as described.)

Thanks
Chris

running npm install -g ionic actually doesn’t update your project but rather your ionic library available globally (-g) for your computer

npm install -g ionic install Ionic globally, the CLI, which allows you to run ionic cmd everywhere on your computer (like ionic start.... to create a new project)

If you want to update your project, you should go to the root of your project and there you could update like the following if you use Ionic with Angular:

npm remove @ionic/angular --save
  npm install @ionic/angular --save

if you wish to install a specific version, current or in the past, you could do for example:

npm install @ionic/@angular@v4.0.0-beta-7 --save

also if I may advice, always read carefully the https://github.com/ionic-team/ionic/blob/master/CHANGELOG.md in case other libs update would be needed when you are upgrading

I hope it’s a bit clearer, I know it’s a bit confusing at the begin

1 Like

Many many thanks for the helpful reply!!!