Installing Ionic IDE on Raspberry Pi?

Hello,
I’m very new to Ionic, and I’m (ironically) trying to help other newbies get started quickly with Ionic. Does it make sense to install Ionic on a Raspberry Pi 3, do a couple of example projects, and then make an image of the Raspberry Pi SD card to distribute to others? The idea is that they can get started right away with editing the example project rather then spend the entirety of a workshop installing the development environment.

It’s all about speed to developing that first app. What kinds of things would still make this difficult? To make APK’s to install on Android devices (not worried about iOS), are there custom things that are needed for each brand of Android phone? For example, I’d like to develop a BLE app (scans for known service, connects to service and reads a characteristic). Is there a phone-specific aspects of interfacing with the BLE API on different phones, or does Android’s Bluetooth API pretty much abstract that enough that it generally works across Android up to a certain OS version?

I’m trying to gauge how realistic it is to be able to make a Raspberry Pi image for students to develop apps on that they can actually make working API’s for their Android phones.

Edit: additional question: Would Raspbian or Ubuntu be better for this?

Thanks,
Eric

I do like this idea - not sure in practice how practical it is knowing Rasberry Pi has a slew of IDE’s and tools mainly based around Python (but not exclusively).

I know it’s possible to install VS Code on Pi but I think you have to compile from code (that may no longer be the case, wouldn’t be surprised if you could get the binaries direct).

Rasberry Pi sits more in the desktop space as opposed to mobile which is more where Ionic’s heart lies - but by no means should that be a problem. Looking at the Cordova logs compiling for Ubuntu is easy enough…

https://cordova.apache.org/docs/en/latest/guide/platforms/ubuntu/index.html