IDTech Unimag Card Reader Plugin

Hey there!

Just wanted to put it that there for anyone interested in using a physical reader/swiper to capture credit card data (name, number, expiration), I just finished writing the first reliable plugin for both Android and iOS!

Unfortunately, it won’t work with just any card reader. Only the IDTech Unimag Swipers (original, pro, II, and shuttle) are supported. However unlike the other half-finished or undocumented IDTech plugins floating around, this one actually works and is easy to use.

Hope it helps you!

Hey Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for doing this! it’s a great help as it is very hard to find a working plugin out there.

I was wondering, did you every test it with IDTech UniPay device?

I’m new to ionic and I’m trying to create one and was wondering if there is any way you can help me with creating one?

thanks Again!

Hi there,

Unfortunately, to my knowledge, although the UniMag II does share an SDK with the original UniMag, UniMag Pro, and Shuttle readers, the UniPay reader has its own SDK. If you can obtain both the UniMag II and the UniPay documentation (available on the ID Tech website), you may be able to spot the differences and add support for it quite easily.

Elli

Hi Eli,

Thanks for responding!
I do have the UniPay doc and SDK (i bought a device from IDTech), but not sure where and how it will be best to add them in your project (quite sure i’m not good enough to spot :wink: )
Any help you can provide will be highly appreciated!!
Thanks in any case,

Ram

Hi Ram,

Sorry, it’s a little hard to advise you on where to add things when I don’t know what you will need to add. Just compare your documentation to what you see implemented and adjust as necessary. If you want to fork the plugin on GitHub, I can take a look at what you’ve done and see if I can be of any real help.

Hi Elli,