5-star ranking as in tutorial not working in app

Hello all,

I’m pretty new to Ionic, started building an App a while ago. I wanted to include a 5-star rating component so I used the method explained here:

I followed all the instructions, the problem is I get an error when I call the ranking component in the html and I cant find why:

<app-rating [(rating)]='rating'></app-rating>

That’s what I have in the html, and the error reads “Identifier ‘rating’ is not defined. The component declaration, template variable declarations, and element references do not contain such a member”

This is the beginning of my .ts file:

import { Component, Input, EventEmitter ,Output} from "@angular/core";

@Component({
  selector: 'app-rating',
  templateUrl: './rating.component.html',
  styleUrls: ['./rating.component.scss'],
})

export class RatingComponent {
  @Input() rating: number ;

@Output() ratingChange: EventEmitter<number> = new EventEmitter();;

constructor() {}

Any help is really appreciated, as I’m just learning Angular/ionic, I don’t have all the knowledge to be able to find a solution on my own. I tried with no luck. Please help!

Thanks

I find it useful in situations like this to disambiguate things: stop naming everything rating, because it obscures where problems lie.

That being said, given the wording of the error message you describe,

I would use the word “embed” or “include” - as opposed to “call” - here. Components don’t really get “called”. I’m going to call the place where you are including an <app-rating> into the host component, and that’s where I would look. When you say <app-rating [(rating)]="rating", you are telling Angular "please bind the host component’s rating property into this <app-rating> component.