Wondering what to do with my Ionic App or if it was the right choice

Hi Everyone,

I recently joined a company that is producing an App for Dementia.
We have the app nearly 90% according to the developers.
I am not a coder, nor do I have experience with it, so that is why I ask you all here. I have researched the differences, but still am not sure how that fully applies today. I have also searched the forums and found some slightly relevant answers, but have more specific questions, so I hope you do not mind me asking.

Aspects of our app are as follows:

• A Pre-diagnosis contains a questionnaire and tests that are based off traditional dementia tests and visualisations.
  • The post-diagnosis includes a video chat that connects users with a nurse and Doctor via a video call feature.
  • The Risk-reduction includes brain training and other activites that are similar to MindMate.

The developers have self coded the video feature, which I do not totally understand why. I guess so that they did not have to license it from someone else.
Other than that its been done in AngularJS.

To me it feels like it would have been best to have done this all Natively, but seeing as this is an ionic framework forum, I would really like some thoughts and opinions on this.

The app, does feel sluggish and after having second opinions on the code from other developers, they also said the code was much too complicated and for the amount we have spent and the time it took (6 months).
We have issues with video sometimes not connecting and also times with the app itself sometimes having connection issues.

I wonder if this is more an issue of the developers code?
Is it also a mix of Ionic?
Should we have done Native from the beginning?

Well this probably isn’t the place for an unbiased answer to this question, but nothing you have mentioned is systemic to Ionic, though details are light. There’s most likely room for improvement with the codebase.