Vue dev-serve returns stale content

I am new to ionic but not new to Vue. I am running the latest 5.x with Vue

So far the experience has been absolutely terrible as ionic serve command does not reflect code changes 90% of the time. I mean this is unusable… I have spent all my day just trying to get the server to refresh correctly. Many times, refreshing the page bring an OLD version of the code !! I mean WHAAAATTT ??? Restarting the server helps only 50% of the time

Also debugging is counter-intuitive. Sometime you have a compiler error message; sometime you don’t and you can refresh the page as much as you want; many times. Sometime restarting the server will bring a new error message…

How can I get ionic-serve --ssl --lab to actually work correctly ? There is a github bug report from 2017 describing this issue; it has never been resolved but closed apparently…

Can someone help me figure what is going on ? Surely there is something wrong on my end right ?

update: disabling browser caching entirely seems to help a lot

Nobody has this issue apart from me ? I tried every browsers. I am still battling with it. Downloaded a project from github and the entire thing is not updating :frowning:

I just did “npx browserslist@latest --update-db” thinking that this might help but Ohh what have I done ?? my project does not compile anymore.

Why is everything so buggy ??

[vue-cli-service]  INFO  Starting development server...
[vue-cli-service]  error  in ./src/views/components/Menu.vue?vue&type=script&lang=ts
[vue-cli-service] Module parse failed: Unexpected token (50:24)
[vue-cli-service] File was processed with these loaders:
[vue-cli-service]  * ./node_modules/cache-loader/dist/cjs.js
[vue-cli-service]  * ./node_modules/babel-loader/lib/index.js
[vue-cli-service]  * ./node_modules/ts-loader/index.js
[vue-cli-service]  * ./node_modules/vue-loader-v16/dist/index.js
[vue-cli-service] You may need an additional loader to handle the result of these loaders.