Unstable build tool: opinions and what can we expect?

I’d like to get some general opinions in here to know if I’m the only one going mad with the build tool.

First off, I think Ionic 2 is great! It’s clean, well structured, the navigation is much simpler, typing is great, tooling is great, creating components is easy, providers are simplified, I love it!

…but the build tool… is driving me crazy. It’s too slow and unstable.

I’m the type of person who programs by small iterations. I like to make quick changes, check if it works, continue programming. In Ionic 1, any change I made took 2-3 seconds to get reflected to my browser with “ionic serve”. Now it takes on average about 45 seconds and that’s when it finishes at all. I understand that there is a new layer of “transpiling” (I’m new to typescript so I had to google the term) but the slowness terrible and not the only problem.

Sometimes the build tool will just hang there without refreshing the page in ionic serve (randomly).
Sometimes the build tool will finish, refresh the page and show the old version of the page (randomly).

I’m never sure if I’m looking at the results of my modified code or the old page and when it hangs without refreshing, it’s up to me to decide when it’s been long enough to shut down the process and start it fresh again. I feel like I’m in a constant state of waiting for transpiling/bundling and then wondering if it worked. Since we’re no longer in beta and have even moved to RC1, I would expect this to be stable and only have to worry about my own programming mistakes but now my programming is moving at a glacial pace and I can’t seem to get a clear answer to the following questions:

1. Why is the build tool randomly hanging?
  2. Why does it sometimes refresh without updating the www with my latest modifications?
  3. When can we expect a stable version of the build tool which allows us to focus only on our code?