Understanding Ionic, Gulp, Bower, NPM

I’m new to Angular stuff, and I was recommended to use Ionic. What I do not understand is how to install, update stuff.

I’ve been looking for already built Ionic projects, and I’ve seen:

• bower_components folder, where apparently the bower installations
    goes
  • www/lib folder (I do not know how to “put” things here, or if
    something puts automatically)
  • gulpfile.js , I do not understand if I have to modify or something modifies for me

Also, sometimes I see github projects that says to install things using NPM, others using bower …

• when something is installed through NPM I do knot where it goes
  • when something is installed through bower it goes to bower_components folder, but then I do not know how to “move” it to www/libs folder (I know how to move folders, but I mean if some command does it automatically)
  • And gulpfile is for what ? :stuck_out_tongue:

Please, any tutorial or simply explanation to all this ?

thank you

Here’s a quick run down of how they work together. They are all such versatile tools that everyone uses them differently so don’t feel bad if you don’t get it right off the bat haha. It’s a lot.

NodeJS is basically a javascript run time for the desktop or server. Ionic specifically on the users end does not use it but the plugins do.

NPM is a package manager for node (node package manager). Ionic has their own package of code, bower, and gulp too. They’re tools that utilize the Node platform. Packages from npm usually go in node_modules. Some are global like cordova, some are local.