Sharing authentication cookies from browser to http api calls

We have a mobile app (android and ios) created using Ionic 5, Capacitor 1.5 and Angular 9

I am relatively new to using Javascript frameworks and need help understanding how to share cookies with different parts of our application.

If I launch an in app browser window for the user to authenticate against our CAS system - how can I make the authentication cookies from the browser window available to send with the http requests that we make to our API using the HttpClient from ‘@angular/common/http’?

I have tried setting the hostname in the capacitor.config.json file to the same domain as our CAS server and using “withCredentials” in the http api calls but it doesn’t seem to be including the authentication cookies.

I appreciate any suggestions.

4 Likes

I’m facing the same problem. Any tips or best practices?

I’m also trying to find a way to do this.

I’m working with Ionic 5, React 17, and Capacitor 3.

Here’s the flow I’m trying to achieve.

1. User opens app.
  2. User clicks login button, in-app browser (by Capacitor browser) opens up to a Drupal login page.
  3. Drupal is configured to allow users to log in by registering an email address and password or signing in with their Google or Apple accounts. In all cases, Drupal returns a cookie to the in-app browser.
  4. Somehow, I want to send that cookie back to my app from the in-app browser.

I have the steps up to #3 working.

I know Ionic now has Auth Connect, which looks great but seems to be based on OAuth, not cookies.

Here’s what I’ve tried so far:

• Using an <iframe> instead of the in-app browser. This is a security issue and Google and Apple both block it.
  • Tried to find a solution for passing the cookie between the in-app browser and the Capacitor app. This medium post suggests it is possible in iOS, but I don’t know enough about coding in Swift to judge how hard this will be to implement.