Remembering user once logged into app

Hello

I’m quite new to ionic 5 and angular. I am wanting to develop an app that requires the user to log in the first time and remember them so they won’t have to login every time.
I have read different articles on how to do this, one telling me to store the user and password locally and another explaining how insecure this is and that I should use a JWT token generated by the server.

As you guys have a lot more experience than me, could you educate me on the best method and practices to achieve this?

You definitely should not store username and password in the app. How we solve this in our apps:

A User can log in and gets a Auth Token returned that than is send with every REST call. With this you can authorize the user in every request and you know who is calling. Also we store this Token in a secured Storage.

iOS: Keychain
Android: SecuredPreferences

Then if you open the App again, read the Token and try to authorize the user --> If it works: Token is valid and user is logged in, if not: Forget token and show login screen

Thank you for this information, is there any documentation on ionic to explain how to do this?

Also I plan to get the login information from a database from my web hosting, can this still be achieved with this method?

Can you elaborate a bit here about what precisely you mean here? What is “login information”, what does "get"ting it involve, what is in this database and who manages it?

I suggest that you understand the basics of OAuth2
https://oauth.net/2/
Also this youtube video may help:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXDce0e3Ue4
Also you can use 3rd party services for authentication using JWT and OAUTH2

However you don’t need to store username or password, you exchange them when user login for a token, that you can store securely in some local storage in your ionic app.