Is this possible?

I’m completely new to ionic and my current company has a mobile application built on ionic from a previous developer and he used angular. We’ve been componentizing our current members site with Vue3 and I’d say roughly 80% of it now use them. My direct manager has tasked me with the assignment of building a new version of our mobile app using ionic with vue and he thinks that I can just drop in our components that we have been building and use them. I’ve expressed to him that from what I’ve been reading you use the UI components provided by ionic and then within those components you can choose which flavor of JS you want to use. He seems to think and please I have no idea if he is correct, that you can just use any vue components since the interaction between the mobile device is capacitor which allows just JS.

So can anyone point me in the direction of a tutorial if its possible that you can use ionic and your own vue compoentns and not the UI from ionic. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed by the assignment and I’m hoping that with the help of this community I can feel a bit better.

You don’t need to use Ionic. Capacitor can be installed into any web/JS project. The benefit of using the Ionic Framework is that you can replicate a mobile feel easily. For my app, I use Ionic components like IonButton, IonModal and IonInput, IonAlert in order to get the native feeling but then have custom Vue components for specific things. I also use TailwindCSS to do most of my styling.

I would recommend using Ionic & Capacitor though. Pick and choose the Ionic Framework components you want to use along with dropping in your own components. Another big difference with Ionic is how it handles Vue routing. Check out the docs. It keeps pages alive as you go between them so it feels more native and not slow. A caveat is that you need to make sure you understand the Vue Lifecycle.

2 Likes