Ionic, ion-datetime show today's date selected when picker popped up

i am new to ionic framework and trying to use ion-datetime in ionic2.

When clicked on the ion-datetime, i need to show today’s date selected in picker popped up.

Thank you.

You could probably bind it to a variable set to today’s date:
<ion-datetime [(ngModel)]="someVar"></ion-datetime>

Firstly, thanks for the response.

I am using <ion-datetime (ionChange)="filter()" displayFormat="MM/DD/YYYY" [(ngModel)]="someVar"></ion-datetime>.
But if i set today’s date to the variable then it will show the value by default. I need to show the date when it is selected only.

you could probably set someVar to null first, then bind a click function to it where you could set today’s date:

<ion-datetime [(ngModel)]="someVar" (click)="someFunc()"></ion-datetime>

then in your ts file, probably somethig like this

someFunc(){
  if(!this.someVar){
    // set someVar to today's date
  }

// else do nothing since, someVar is probably set to a user's input by now
}

i hope this helps

Yeah, i tried this earlier but found one issue. When i set today’s date on a click function it is binding but it is not selected in date picker as screenshot below.

in html file

<ion-datetime (ionChange)="filter()" displayFormat="MM/DD/YYYY" [(ngModel)]="someVar"></ion-datetime>

in ts file, used the following code

filter(){
this.someVar = new Date().toISOString();
}

Thank you.

filter() is triggered when you try selecting a value in your <ion-datetime> since you’ve bound it to (ionChange).

may I ask if you have tried changing it’s value by interacting with it?

sorry my bad, i bound it to (click) event but just copied the ion-datetime tag from my above post :confused:. Here is the original.

<ion-datetime (click)="filter()" displayFormat="MM/DD/YYYY" [(ngModel)]="someVar"></ion-datetime>

Thank you

it’s okay.
i looked into it in a plunkr and was surprised that it behaved that way.