Ionic BLE : Can't store this.var after reading in BLE data

I’m able to read the BLE data just fine & store it in an array. However if I want to update my view and put the array values into my this.first_BLE_stat it simply won’t work. Nothing happens. I can do an alert and print data[0] and it is perfect. I’ve been reading for hours and still can’t figure it out - apologies i’m an ionic newbie!

connect(id) {
        BLE.connect(id).subscribe (
          peripheralData => {
                    alert("Connect:" + JSON.stringify(peripheralData));
                        BLE.read(this.deviceID, this.service_UUID, this.color_UUID).then(function (buffer){
                             alert("I'm running first");
                         //convert bytes to string   
                           var convertData = String.fromCharCode.apply(null, new Uint8Array(buffer));
                          var data = [];
                          for (var i = 0; i < convertData.length; i++) {
                            var resultNumber = convertData.charCodeAt(i);
                            data[i] = (resultNumber.toString());
                            alert("data from BLE:  " + data[i]);
                        }
                        alert(data[0]);
                        this.first_BLE_stat= data[0];
                        alert("first BLE stat" + this.first_BLE_stat);
                        }, function(error) {
                          alert("Error Read" + JSON.stringify(error));
                        });
                    },
                error => alert("Error Connecting" + JSON.stringify(error))
                );      
    }

In my HTML i just have a{{first_BLE_stat}}.

I’ve also tried using Ng zone & updating the variable inside but no luck :frowning:

Any help appreciated…I think I’m going insane :slight_smile:

I have found that change detector is sometimes needed with BLE, not sure why it may be a bug

import { ChangeDetectorRef } from ‘@angular/core’;