How to use ion router in vanilla js?

Hey all, I am new to ionic. And I am using ionic as a standalone framework with vanilla JS.

I have a bottom nav bar with 3 buttons and want to navigate between different html files associated to specific buttons.

I read about using ion router in vanilla JS but could not understand how to implement the same. Especially the component part.

Can some one help me?

Hey @akulchhillar0, one of the best resources for Vanilla routing with tabs (and menu, if you want) is the Stencil conference app: https://github.com/ionic-team/ionic-stencil-conference-app/blob/20a33ba2e469399420613daadff356999d0060fb/src/components/app-root/app-root.tsx#L99

Try following the example in there for the nested routes for tabs and let me know how that goes.

Thanks, but I still don’t understand how should I implement the same in vanilla js as I cannot import or export the components there. What I don’t understand is the component part in pure js.
Hope you got my point.

Also can I use pure js function to redirect user ?

One way you can do the components is by writing Web Components like this: https://github.com/ionic-team/ionic-docs/blob/77982ec95eeb73633a82abafc8003ec10abde522/src/demos/api/content/index.html#L61

Then you can pass to ion-route the name of the tag you defined, in this case page-root.

Did I understand your question?

1 Like

Okay I get creating custom elements. However I still don’t understand the use of url attribute in ion-route element. I want to redirect to /new-page.html page where new-page is the name of my custom element

Routes will be handled client side, so you won’t load new-page.html. Instead, that route will be handled by the router, then your ion-route will be called, which will then load the matching component based on the url argument. You could have those components in different files/etc. but that would mean using a bundler like webpack/etc. or using es imports.