How to generate .apk file of the app built using ionic framework?

Hi everyone… Good Morning … I am done with my first app developed using ionic framework … Now I need to generate the version 1 of the app with .apk file format to test it in android phones … How can I do it ?? I am new to this ionic framework … Can anyone guide me ?

2 Likes

use the ionic cli or the creator.

run “ionic platform add android” --> this will download all necessary android parts
after that you can add native plugins your need: “ionic plugin add XXXXXX”

if you are finished run “ionic build android”.

Please be sure that your system fullfills the requirements (installed java sdk/jre and android sdk).

1 Like

Hi bengtler … thanks for the reply … I am using ubuntu OS … How to ionic cli or the creator in the terminal … pls guide me as I am very much new to this ionic framework …

Requirements:
NodeJS 4.x
https://nodejs.org/en/

first install latest cordova cli
npm install -g cordova

to install ionic cli
npm install -g ionic

Start a new ionic project
–> replace the sources in www-folder with your app code

There is a nice beginners guide:

And a complete guide:
http://ionicframework.com/docs/guide/

Thanks bengtler … I will check it … and revert back to you …

Error: /opt/lampp/htdocs/firsthive/fhapp.v5/platforms/android/cordova/build: Command failed with exit code 2
at ChildProcess.whenDone (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/cordova/node_modules/cordova-lib/src/cordova/superspawn.js:139:23)
at emitTwo (events.js:87:13)
at ChildProcess.emit (events.js:172:7)
at maybeClose (internal/child_process.js:818:16)
at Process.ChildProcess._handle.onexit (internal/child_process.js:211:5)

May I know what is the mistake I am doing ??

When I executed $ cordova build command in the terminal within the project directory to rebuild the app, I got the following error messages :

Running command: /opt/lampp/htdocs/{app path}/hooks/after_prepare/010_add_platform_class.js /opt/lampp/htdocs/{app path}