How to disable drag in side menu

Hi i am new to Ionic as well Angular. How can i disable the drag event on side menu. I don’t want to reveal side menus on dragging the center content. I have found something called ‘defaultPrevented’ in ionic’s js files to prevent but can’t understand how to use it. Is there a way to do this. Also is there any way to alter the size of left and right menu without changing it in the ionic’s js files ??

6 Likes

Hey @saurabhgupta050. I just added an option to the side-menu-content directive to disable content dragging. To use it, set it like this:

<pane side-menu-content drag-content="false">

Is that a decent solution for you?

Also note, you 'll need to be on master to use this as I just committed it.

20 Likes

thanks @max , worked like a charm … :slight_smile:

Also I would suggest to add a feature to alter the size of left/right menu … Currently its fixed to 275px so i have to make change in the js file for desired value …

1 Like

Good idea. I will put it on the list.

1 Like

Hi there. is it possible to not disable the drag altogether but have it not enable drag gesture on certain elements? I want to implement a text editor in the content pane. It would be ideal to disable the swipe gesture on the text editor (textarea or contenteditable div). that way you could still highlight words in the text editor.

@max is it possible that you can add this attribute on a view to conditionally disable the drag? So if I’m on a particular view in my tabs, I can’t swipe to open the menu but if I’m on another tab, I get that functionality back?

5 Likes

i agree with that.For example i have a view with a range slider where i need to disable menu dragging (otherwise you cant use the slider), but i want the menu drag in my other views…
Cheers

1 Like