How to create a build script

I am a novice at Ionic/Capacitor and wish to convert a large Cordova app to Ionic. I followed the migration advice here exactly. However when I tried the command at step 3, “ionic build”, I got this error message.

[ERROR] Cannot perform build.

Since you're using the custom project type, you must provide the ionic:build npm script so the Ionic CLI can
    build your project.

I know where the build script is meant to be entered, but not what is meant to go there. I can find tons of online advice saying that a build script is required, but none at all on what specifically has to be entered. If I can’t get by this seemingly trivial step, Ionic/Capacitor does not appear to be a useful way forward, so I look forward to any advice. To be clear, all I am looking to do at this stage is build and run the project in the browser, prior to moving on to Android.

right you can use this

Hi nextoffice,

Did you mean to add something more?

That means Ionic CLI doesn’t know which app type your project is (it’s not vue, react or angular), so it considers it a custom project and ionic build doesn’t know how to build your app.

And it’s telling you to add a ionic:build npm script in your package.json that would run the script you use to build your web assets.

In example if you have a build npm script to build your web assets using vite, you have to add a new ionic:build script that runs the build script.

{
    "scripts": {
        "build": "vite",
        "ionic:build": "npm run build"
    }
}