Getting Started - "ionic emulate ios" fails

I’m new to Ionic as well as Cordova. I’ve used PhoneGap in the past, but mostly PG Build and I never really did any compiling on my local machine.

I followed the steps in the Getting Started guide and ran ionic emulate ios, but I get this error text:

Aalaaps-iMac:myApp aalaap$ ionic emulate ios
Running emulate task...
Emulating app on platform ios
Generating config.xml from defaults for platform "ios"
Preparing ios project
Running on emulator for platform "ios" via command     "/Users/aalaap/Documents/Ionic/myApp/platforms/ios/cordova/run" --emulator
Error: An error occurred while emulating/deploying the ios project. Error: ios-sim was not found. Please download, build and install version 1.7 or greater from https://github.com/phonegap/ios-sim into your path. Or 'npm install -g ios-sim' using node.js: http://nodejs.org/

at ChildProcess.<anonymous> (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/cordova/src/emulate.js:67:22)
at ChildProcess.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:98:17)
at maybeClose (child_process.js:735:16)
at Socket.<anonymous> (child_process.js:948:11)
at Socket.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:95:17)
at Pipe.close (net.js:466:12)
Unable to emulate app on platform ios. Please see console for more info.

It suggests installing ios-sim, so I did that: sudo npm install -g ios-sim, but it only resulted in the following error:

npm http GET https://registry.npmjs.org/ios-sim
npm http 304 https://registry.npmjs.org/ios-sim

> ios-sim@1.8.2 preinstall /usr/local/lib/node_modules/ios-sim
> rake build

xcodebuild -project ios-sim.xcodeproj -configuration Release SYMROOT=build

Agreeing to the Xcode/iOS license requires admin privileges, please re-run as root via sudo.

rake aborted!
Command failed with status (69): [xcodebuild -project ios-sim.xcodeproj -con...]
/usr/local/lib/node_modules/ios-sim/Rakefile:7:in `block in <top (required)>'
Tasks: TOP => build
(See full trace by running task with --trace)