CSS question about ion-grid - responsive margins

I’m new to ionic and to css - so forgive my ignorance.

I’ve made a game where I deal 92 cards face down for the user to pick, one by one.

I put the cards in a 12 column grid with 8 rows. For most screen sizes all the cards fit on one screen, but as the screen gets larger, the grid is too large for a screen, and the user must scroll down to get to the bottom.

I played with CSS and found that if I added left and right margins, I could shrink the size of the grid until it fit on one screen - but now when I shrink the screen size, it’s much too small for smaller screens.

I’ve tried to create CSS classes that are “responsive” meaning - I had hoped that different constraints could be used for different screen sizes - but without success.

I (think I) want to operate on the entire grid - but so far my class seems all or nothing - no “responsiveness.”

Can someone help me figure out how to apply a CSS class to ion-grid in a responsive way? Or - tell me how to specify margins (I’m currently using left: 20% -for example) that are “responsive” meaning that I could use different numbers for different sized screens?

I would be most appreciative of any help! thanks!

I think what you need to use are Media Queries. With the help of these you can make CSS rules for specific screen sizes.

Look here (W3Schools) for a short tutorial about Media Queries, I’m sure you will understand them quickly :slight_smile:

1 Like

oh man! You rock! thanks! Didn’t know about them.

I went to youtube - found a 5 min course on media query (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KL-z9A56SQ)

This is what I needed. Still tweaking the #s - but it’s working and I’ll be able to make it right.

Thank you sir! So helpful!

1 Like

You’re welcome, glad I could help! Cheers mate!

1 Like

might I ask one followup?

I was able to use media query to vastly improve the layout over different screen sizes. Thanks again for that!