Change ion-page background color when ion-slide transitions

Hi, I want to change the background color of the entire page of my app each time an ion-slider transitions. I’m new to Vue3 and Ionic and wondering if someone can point me in the right direction. The code I have so far is this

<template>
  <ion-page>
    <ion-header>
      <h1>My Colorful Slider</h1>
    </ion-header>
    <ion-content :fullscreen="true">
      <ion-slides :options="slideOpts" @ionSlideTransitionStart="slideChange()">
        <ion-slide>
          <p>Slide 1</p>
        </ion-slide>
        <ion-slide>
          <p>Slide 2</p>
        </ion-slide>
        <ion-slide>
          <p>Slide 3</p>
        </ion-slide>
      </ion-slides>
    </ion-content>
  </ion-page>
</template>

<script lang="ts">
import { IonPage, IonHeader, IonContent, IonSlides, IonSlide,} from '@ionic/vue'

export default {
  name: 'Slider',
  components: { IonHeader, IonContent, IonPage, IonSlides, IonSlide,},
  setup() {
    const slideOpts = {
      autoplay: {
        delay: 5000,
      },
      loop: true,
    }
    return { slideOpts }
  },
  methods: {
      slideChange(event) {
	  /* Get current slide number and change class name of ion-page here? */
        console.log('slideChange')
      }
  },
}
</script>

<style scoped>
  ion-slides {
    height: 100%;
  }
  .ion-page {
    --ion-background-color: red;
  }
  .ion-page--2 {
    --ion-background-color: green;
  }
  .ion-page--3 {
    --ion-background-color: blue;
  }
</style>

I don’t know if this is the right start or not but if it is I don’t know how to get the active slide in slideChange method in order to set the right class attribute on the ion-page element. If this is possible then presumably I need to put a binding in the ion-page element?

I guess I’m just not confident this is even the right approach so I’m hoping someone might be able to steer me in the right direction before I go (further) in the wrong direction!