Best way to store Bearer token from API?

Hello all. I’m looking for a bit of advice in regards to storing a bearer token for OAuth on my Ionic app.

Users will be able to log in using a backend system I have built. On successful login, the bearer token is sent in the response which the user will need to use to validate their API requests.

Where would you recommend storing the bearer token? I’ve explored using the capacitor Storage facility and simply having a kay/value pairing but I don’t feel as though I know enough about data security to make an informed decision? Should I go full sqlite and encrypt the bearer token? Does it really matter if the token changes every login?

Thank you for any guidance you can offer.

1 Like

I recently had this same question and read several articles and posts about this. By no means I am an expert, but from what I found, there are varying opinions (Similar to where to store JWT tokens in an SPA. Google it, there is no straight answer…lol).

I think it really depends on what kind of app you are developing and what kind of data your API is serving.

For me, I chose to use capacitor/storage. With this option, a user could get access to the API key if they really wanted to or if their phone is compromised, it could be accessed. If a phone is compromised, there are bigger problems to worry about though :slight_smile: For my app, these possible risks don’t warrant an encrypted option as we aren’t storing or serving confidential/personal information.

The ultimate most secure option is using an encrypted option like Ionic’s Identity Vault or Secure Storage. If I was developing a banking app or something like that, hands down I would use this. But, with my current app, I cannot justify the cost.