Basic question, just started Ionic2/Angular

Hi guys, I just started programming with ionic2 and angular2, coming from PHP and .net. Help would be greatly appreciated. I’ve read through the docs, and created a todo list and searched through some ionic2 sample projects.

I have a Google Maps object on my page at the moment, with some markers loaded from a PHP backend. I have a event listener set on the markers and now I want to display a DIV on the page with some info from the database. So when I click the marker, DB info for that specific marker clicked will be loaded into the DIV, following a HTML layout.

How can I go about doing this? Heres some code that I have at the moment - that is not working/most likely wrong - but perhaps you guys have some better alternatives.

<div id="outletBox" [hidden]="outletBox == true">
        info here from db
      </div>

And in my home.js file under @Page

marker.addListener('click', () => {
                    this.outletBox = true;
                });

This is a bit of a complex situation for somebody just starting out. You’ve got a problem with non-zone-aware external libraries and to solve it yourself is going to require what is going to look like voodoo. Is there any chance you can use the ionic-native bridge to do this for you?

I already have the data loaded. I just want to show a DIV and display info on this DIV.

import {Page, NgZone, NavController, Modal, Alert, MenuController} from ‘ionic-angular’;

constructor (public store: Store, private zone: NgZone) { }

Does the above line still work?

I really don’t recommend fooling around with zones directly. That was what I was trying to avoid with my initial advice to use ionic-native.

@rapropos I just succesfully implemented zones into my project and it’s fully working now as I originally planned. Can I ask why you recommend against using zones and how else you think it would be appropriate to change elements on the DOM from within the component files?