Animations?

Hello,

I am still a beginner and trying to add animations when switching between tabs.

<ion-nav-view animation="slide-left-right"></ion-nav-view>

but doesn’t seem to have any effect? Is this an issue? Or more possibly I am doing something wrong?

It depends how your states are defined and if you have other ion-nav-view’s where it is set to “no-animation”

My states are defined as follows:

.config(function($stateProvider, $urlRouterProvider) {
 $stateProvider

//First page
.state('login', {
  url: '/login',
  templateUrl: 'templates/login.html',
  controller: 'LoginCtrl'
})

// setup an abstract state for the tabs directive
.state('tab', {
  url: '/tab',
  abstract: true,
  templateUrl: 'templates/tabs.html'
})

// Each tab has its own nav history stack:
.state('tab.home', {
  url: '/home',
  views: {
    'tab-home': {
      templateUrl: 'templates/tab-home.html',
      controller: 'HomeCtrl'
    }
  }
})

.state('tab.profile', {
  url: '/profile',
  views: {
    'tab-profile': {
      templateUrl: 'templates/tab-profile.html',
      controller: 'ProfileCtrl'
    }
  }
})

In each of the templates I encapsulate everything in and that is all, I do not use “no-animation”

Could you remove animation=“slide-left-right” from your ion-nav-view?
Then the default animation should be used.

Ähm but you should have another ion-nav-view in your templates/tabs.html!
may you post this page-content?

Removed what you said and also you were right, this is my tabs.html:

<ion-tabs class="tabs-icon-top">

<!-- Home Tab -->
<ion-tab title="Home" icon="icon ion-home" href="#/tab/dash">
  <ion-nav-view name="tab-home"></ion-nav-view>
</ion-tab>

<!-- Profile Tab -->
<ion-tab title="Profile" icon="icon ion-person" href="#/tab/profile">
  <ion-nav-view name="tab-profile"></ion-nav-view>
</ion-tab>

</ion-tabs>

And why you expect animations between the two tabs?

You have only an animation if you change the ion-nav-view content.