Android back button causes side-menu app to exit

I am new to Ionic and liking it so far. I’m having an issue with Android and navigation. This maybe due to my ignorance but I am a little confused how everything should fit together. I’m using a side-menu with Angular’s ngRoute service. That seems to work in the browser when using back/forward buttons. When I deploy it to the device, the back button causes the app to exit. I poked around the forum a little but still uncertain what is the expected behavior should be. I’d like to be able to use the back-button to bring the user back to the previous view in side-menu content (where the templates are being swapped out based on route).

Questions:

1. What is the expected behavior of back button on Android device in a pure side-menu app without routing?
  2. Should I be able to use ion-nav-view to host templates inside side-menu-content withouth ion-nav-bar and maintain history?
  3. But still, is it Ionic’s limitation not handling Android’s back button? Should I be looking at Cordova’s API to handle it??

Thank you.

Let’s clarify “using a side-menu with Angular’s ngRoute service”

Are you actually using ngRoute? If so, you really shouldn’t anymore. Ionic switch to UI-Router several months ago. Checkout the “Getting Startedionic start myApp sidemenu for a side menu sample using ui-router.

1. I believe the back button should walk you backward through the navigation stack just like the back button on the desktop
  2. & 3. It’s kind of hard to answer this without really understanding what you are doing? Do you have no “main content” outside the sidemenu? Setting up a CodePen sample might help us understand.

Thank you.

I tried using ion-nav-view before w/o ion-nav-bar and that didn’t seem to work. That led me to think ion-nav-view requires ion-nav-bar, which I didn’t want in the app so I went with ngRouter first. But that doesn’t handle device back button correctly.