Why is ionic serve necessary?

I’m an Angularjs and Ionic beginner. I’m confused on why I need to use ‘ionic serve’ to view apps on my desktop browser. My understanding is that ionic extends Angularjs and I don’t need to run a serve to view Angularjs sites. Perhaps my Angularjs sites have been too small to see the need.

Thanks,
Brian

Serve does more than just that

It wraps your app in an actual web service so it emulates how it will run on the device with cordova. Making http requests and such require this.

Also when you update any files serve will update your view in the browser so it’s really nice for rapid development. It also auto compiles the SASS files for you and updates the css changes without reloading the whole view which is really neat I think.

Thanks, NorthMcCormick! So, that leads me to another question. When I run ionic serve, I can see my app in IE and it looks exactly like it looks on my iPhone when I run ‘ionic upload’ and use the ionic app. Is there a way for me to run ionic serve and to then see my app in for how it would look on an android device?

@bvacha you can use ionic serve --lab to get preview of ios and android.

1 Like

HOLY SMOKES!
How come this is not in the front page of http://ionicframework.com/docs/guide/testing.html ?

How does --lab work? How is it ensuring true iOS and android representation? They are both running inside safari

1 Like

So it works by creating two iframes and adding the class platform-ios for ios and platform-android for android. This is really how alot of the style differences are done.

1 Like

I’m a little confused. I suspect that the key issues between platforms would be:
a) How is Safari handling rendering vs. Chrome
b) How are they handling events (on-tap/on-hold/etc)
c) What cordova plugins work and what don’t (which you anyway can’t test on a desktop)