Why can't I import NavController and ViewController into Service or App?

I’m attempting to inject NavController and ViewController into either my app.js file or a custom service.

My objective is (or was) to pass the current view into a “LeftMenuManager” service class. Some pages I need the leftmenu to be disabled, others I do not. The LeftMenuManager service would be responsible for flipping the switch based on the view name.

However, I’m unable to inject these dependencies - I get an error about “No provider for NavController…”.

I get the sense that I’m doing something backwards, but I don’t know exactly what. As most people, I’m new at this.

I understand that I’m attempting to inject controllers into non-pages. If this is the case, is there a central “master” page that will be called each time outside of the app.html?

Can someone please help me understand why I can’t do this? Or, if it’s possible, what it is that I’m missing?

Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

I found an issue I was running into relating to the injection of a service into another service inside the FAQ:

@asteffes I’m getting the same error as you, but im doing a workaround.

export class myClass {
  app: IonicApp;

constructor(app: IonicApp) {
     this.app = app;
     this.app.getComponent('nav').pop();
  }
}

I still can’t inject the NavController or ViewController, you found a way to do that?

1 Like

I got the same error

1 Like

Why don’t you post your code (whole class) and we’ll try to check it out.

1 Like

I used a workaround as well. I’ve started breaking the “tell, don’t ask” principle in all the areas that I needed to manage the menu.

import {NotificationInterface} from "./notification.interface";  
import {Injectable} from "angular2/core";
import {Alert} from "ionic-framework/ionic";
import {NavController} from "ionic-framework/ionic";

@Injectable()
export class NotificationService implements NotificationInterface {
    private nav;

constructor(nav: NavController) {