VueJS, Android and CORS

Hello,

I am new to Ionic framework and trying to make simple HTTP request to third party API. On the Android device, with Axios library, I have CORS issues, which I can understand since requests’ Origin are http://localhost

But I tried a lot of different solutions, without success :

So, is there any solution to use Native HTTP with VueJS ?

Thanks

4 Likes

I had the very same problem. I ended up making a simple proxy with php, but after a few hours I realized I could have used the native HTTP functionality so I am trying this right now. Thanks for the link.

Have you tried?

If it works, LMK!

1 Like

FYI, for anyone needing to make API calls to a 3rd party API, it is highly recommended to use a proxy especially if you have your own private API key/token to authenticate with the 3rd party API. If you don’t, you’ll be exposing your API key to the world in your mobile app. This is one of the reasons why many 3rd party APIs don’t allow CORS. Most likely having your private API key open to the public is also against the 3rd party API’s Terms of Service.

2 Likes

I would like to report a bug with Discourse, because I clicked on the “heart” icon below @twestrick’s post 40,000 times, but it only shows 1.

In addition to his absolutely critical point about security, you can make a marketing / IP case for a middleware proxy: it allows you to provide added value to your app in the form of functionality that is not easily reverse-engineered and extracted out of the app binary, because it lives in how you repackage the 3rd-party data in your middleware.

Imagine one of those “spiderscraper” sites that facilitates comparison shopping by aggregating information from various sellers. Your algorithms for gathering and packaging the information can be done on the proxy. This also allows you to easily add processing power as needed, using something like Kerberos autoscaling.

2 Likes

TLDR: