Using observables in ionic

Hi,

I am pretty new to Ionic and just implemented observables in my app code, and I have some questions regarding observables

Sample implementation:

// function
  getEvent() {
    let observable = new Observable(observer => {
        observer.next(somedata);
    });
    return observable;
  }

// subscribe
      this.getEvent().subscribe((someEvent: any) => {
      });

Questions:

1. Since I created a new observable, do I need to delete that observable to prevent memory leaks? I am sorry if this is a dumb question, but I come from c++ where a new has to be followed by a delete if not memory leaks will occur.

2. Since I subscribed to the observable, will I need to unsubscribe anywhere in my code?

You don’t need to create Observables like that unless you’re doing something super fancy. Most standard libraries already have Angular shims so async functions return Promises or Observables as appropriate. It’s a lot safer to go with code like that, which has already been community tested. Observables can be hard to debug.

To answer your other question, you do need to unsubscribe from any Observable you create. There is a lot of good discussion on this forum about best practices here. Not everyone agrees on everything, but there have been some great methods presented. One discussion is here: Should I unsubscribe Observables lists?

1 Like

Thanks for your very informative reply. Do you have any code examples for the part where you said "It’s a lot safer to go with code like that, which has already been community tested."

So you think that I should not use observables? The only reason I was using them is because I saw a tutorial on them for a socket.io implementation.

Full code:

getEvent() {
    let observable = new Observable(observer => {
      this.socket.on("newEvent", data => {
        observer.next(data);
      });
    });
    return observable;
  }