Unable to create a new Ionic app

I’m a new developer that has developed a few apps with Phonegap. I decided to start using Ionic, but ran into some issues while attempting to install Ionic and create a blank app.

Initially I was unable to install Ionic at all, with the command npm install -g cordova ionic throwing several errors. I updated Node and npm, cleared npm cache and ran the command again and it got successfully installed.

Now I have been trying to create a new app for a while now.
running ionic start test sidemenu gives the following result:

F:\Workshops\Coding\Android>ionic start test sidemenu
√ Creating directory .\test - done!
[INFO] Fetching app base (https://github.com/ionic-team/ionic2-app-base/archive/master.tar.gz)
√ Downloading - done!
[INFO] Fetching starter template sidemenu (https://github.com/ionic-team/ionic2-starter-sidemenu/archive/master.tar.gz)
√ Downloading - done!
√ Updating package.json with app details - done!
√ Creating configuration file ionic.config.json - done!
[INFO] Installing dependencies may take several minutes!
> npm install
× Running command - failed!
[ERROR] An error occurred while running npm install (exit code 1):

npm WARN deprecated object-keys@0.2.0: Please update to the latest object-keys
        npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: fsevents@^1.0.0 (node_modules\chokidar\node_modules\fsevents):
        npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY:
        sha512-Sn44E5wQW4bTHXvQmvSHwqbuiXtduD6Rrjm2ZtUEGbyrig+nUH3t/QD4M4/ZXViY556TBpRgZkHLDx3JxPwxiw== integrity
        checksum failed when using sha512: wanted
        sha512-Sn44E5wQW4bTHXvQmvSHwqbuiXtduD6Rrjm2ZtUEGbyrig+nUH3t/QD4M4/ZXViY556TBpRgZkHLDx3JxPwxiw== but got
        sha512-WLz1xvhCcG6K4SDQo0URza943iHRUSnY03o0D/BjBZXoIhmcwLePKQJ0GwjBh5iMpfeusKZa9rRHTaBfIRKyDQ==. (977675 bytes)
        npm WARN ajv-keywords@2.1.0 requires a peer of ajv@>=5.0.0 but none was installed.